English

Bold Call to Action in Obama’s State of the Union, Even if No Action Is Likely – NYTimes.com


Instead, he asked congressional Republicans who have resisted new taxes at every turn over the last six years to raise taxes on the wealthy. He asked lawmakers who won their seats on promises of reining in government to reopen the spending spigot to provide free community college, child care and paid parental leave to millions of middle-income Americans. The program he outlined sounded pretty much like the one he would have sent to a Democratic Congress.

“If you share the broad vision I outlined tonight, join me in the work at hand,” he told lawmakers. “If you disagree with parts of it, I hope you’ll at least work with me where you do agree. And I commit to every Republican here tonight that I will not only seek out your ideas, I will seek to work with you to make this country stronger.” via – NYTimes.com

.

Leave a Reply

