The winner came just past the break, as Martin Demichelis was shown a direct red for hauling down the Argentine on the break, and Messi made no mistake from the spot, blasting his shot down the middle of the net after sending keeper Joe Hart the wrong way. Neymar would find Daniel Alves at the death for the capper, a shot right through keeper Joe Hart’s legs that might have put this tie to the sword.
It was a disappointing result for a City side that had put on a tactical master-class for the better part of an hour. But one break — and one mistake — kills teams at this level, and there was no denying that referee Jonas Eriksson got the penalty decision right. via | FOX Sports